top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrey Sigmon

Winding Down

My last week in the springs is sadly upon me. After this coming week I will start packing my things and driving to Kansas City on Sunday. I'm glad I get to see my family for Thanksgiving and probably celebrate my 21st birthday in Columbia but I've been having so much fun these past few weeks, its hard to say goodbye. This past week I did some more really awesome mountain biking with friends and just grinded out online schoolwork again. This week in Cardiovascular Physiology we discussed altitude and the effects it can have on cardiorespiratory fitness, which is a topic that really interested be since I have been living at over 6,000 ft of elevation and mountain biking at about 7,000 ft most days. It was a really interesting topic that I learned a lot from but I sadly learned that I would not in fact be 10x faster on a bike than my friends when I return to a lower elevation. The benefits of training at high altitude will only last me about two weeks but trust me when I say I will be utilizing those two weeks. As I've been out here for a while now, I figured out that Colorado has an extreme amount of drive thru taco places far beyond the reaches of regular old Taco Bell. Some of these places aren't even chains and they just serve up homemade tacos through the drive through. Since this discovery I have been really eating a ton tacos and breakfast burritos with green chile salsa of course (thats also an out west thing). Definitely another unique thing I will miss about being in the springs. I don't have too much planned for my last week here but I do know I'll be trying to fill my days as best I can. This is my second to last blog post and I guess the last one will be written in Kansas City so I'll update about my final week then. Enjoy these cool pics from one of our recent mountain bike adventures this past week



9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Top 10 Things I learned

Colorado is one of the most beautiful states in the country. Green chile anything is the way to go. Drive through authentic taco shops are probably the best invention ever. I am probably better at mou

What I learned about myself

One of the things that was so awesome about my exchange to Colorado Springs was that I could actively see myself changing as an individual and I learned a ton about myself. The first thing I learned w

Loose Goose

As I have started to come to the realization that my time in the Springs is rapidly coming to an end, I have been trying to really enjoy and make the most of every day. Although I like to do that ever

bottom of page